Ultracon Opinion

Wednesday, January 1, 2014

2014: Last off-ramp before perdition

April 15, 2014 is the date of the last update. Read my articles:

How to Control the IRS
The I.R.S. Continues to Hose the Young
Finally, a Man Worth Killing
Lousy Logic: Get Used to It … at Stubborn Things
Rules and Rule Makers
Law, Logic, and the Tendency to Overcomplicate
Putting Social Security on a Solid Footing
A Dog in the Manger on Football’s Big Day
Paul Krugman, Vanquished
If You Like Your ObamaCare, You Can Keep Your ObamaCare
The Trust Fund Mirage

The following are OLD articles that have new addresses:
Hillary Taxes Breathing … the health care debate in 2008 …
No More Minnesotas … it’s all about election integrity …
The Limitations of Economics … is it a science? …

Here’s a classy dame with a gorgeous voice, Anja Harteros. Although it's barbaric, if you're pressed for time, start in the middle:

Tuesday, January 1, 2013

Republic at Risk

December 5, 2013 is the date of the last update. Read my articles:

Targeting the Low-Information Voter
The Rhetoric of ObamaCare
Illogic in American Law
One Second After
Banging the Drum for Default … also here at Tenth Amendment Center
ObamaCare’s Original Sin … also here at TAC
The Democrats vs. Electoral Reform
Making America Exceptional Again
Election Fraud: Detecting the Undetectable
Complexity and Its Cult
Presidential Lawlessness: It’s So Cool … also here at TenthAmendmentCenter
Immigration Reform versus Unemployed America
Norman Ornstein Fixes America’s Broken Election System
The End of the World and Other Entertainments
The Law Means Nothing to These People
Mark Steyn, Accommodation, and the Fall of Khartoum
Election Integrity under the Arizona Ruling
The Real Threat from Comprehensive Immigration Reform
Internet Retailing under the Marketplace Fairness Act
Or What: The Saga Continues … in the June Vocabula Review
Robert Reich’s War on Global Capital
The IRS Scandal and Tax Reform
Krugman: Hardly ‘Hard-line’
The Future of Private Property
Culture and the Barbarians at the Gate
The Rising Price of Civilization
Family Fortunes and the I.R.S.
Refining Our ‘Theory’ of Taxation
Will Obama Grab Your IRA?
Or What: A Disquisition on a Common Error in American Usage
… in The Vocabula Review for March, 2013
Obama’s Obsession with the One Percent
ObamaCare and the ‘RobertsTax’
Without Serious Spending Cuts, the Conservative Base Will Walk Away
The Taxpayer’s Share
Loyalty in Football
‘Put Not Your Trust in Aryans’: A Movie Review
A Currency as Good as Gold

This short video is terrific:
 


Restoration delayed.

Sunday, January 1, 2012

Tea Party Ascendant

December 19, 2012 is the date of the last update. Read my articles:

Fiscal Cliff: Negotiating with a Weak Hand?
Krugman Sends ‘Deficit Scolds’ Straight to Hell
Saved from Another Great Depression?
The Twinkie Economist Looks at the 1950s
Snookered on the Fiscal Cliff
A Persistent ObamaCare Factoid
Reeling from Fiscal Vertigo
Claire McCaskill: ‘Other People’s Money’ and Marijuana
Todd Akin: It’s the Majority, Stupid
‘The Policies That Caused the Mess in the First Place’
Recovery and the Fed’s ‘Exit Strategy’
The Weight of the Fed in the Voters’ Decision … also here at TAC
The Brokest Nation
America’s Road to Perdition
Putting Sand in the Gears of the Price Mechanism
Inequality: The Cudgel of Progressives
‘Repeal and Replace’ Is Not Enough ... at TAC ...
‘Fun Facts’ from Barbara Shelly on Wacky, Ignorant Missouri
Howard Dean: A Piece of Work
If All Else Fails: What to do if Akin doesn’t step aside
The Impact of ObamaCare on the Economy
ObamaCare: The Most Recent in a Parade of Horribles
ObamaCare Thwarts Tax Reform
Did the ‘Individual Mandate’ Survive?
The Tax You Need Not Pay
Taxes: ‘Heresies of the Obvious’
Long-term Budgeting by a Short-term Congress
What ‘Every Economist’ Says
The Aesthetics of ObamaCare … also HERE as Release the Kraken
A Raging Prairie Fire of Lies
Election Fraud: A new special report from Fox News
‘Marriage Equality’ and the Public Interest
Obama’s Blank Check
ObamaCare and Freedom
Taxing Thoughts from Justice Sotomayor
ObamaCare’s Real Price Tag
Paul Krugman’s History Problem
‘Let Voters Decide’: Tax Reform in Missouri
Mandatory Spending by a Broke Nation
Sandra Fluke and the Nature of Insurance
‘Nobody Considers That a Tax’
Elections in America: ‘Inaccurate, Costly, and Inefficient’
ObamaCare’s Moral Conscience Accommodation
America’s One True Religion
Krugman’s Premature Victory Lap
The Company Men
Non-citizen Voting in Connecticut
A Diseased Economy Awaits the Correct Diagnosis
Voter Fraud for the Complete Idiot

For you lovers out there, here’s French Canadian actress Andrée Lachapelle and composer Michel Legrand in a duet from Legrand’s The Umbrellas of Cherbourg:




The Restoration draws nigh.

Friday, January 21, 2011

Tea Party Agonistes

December 6, 2011 is the date of the last update. Read my articles:

Your ‘Fair Share’ in the New Tax Rate Regime

American Elections: The Paragon of Democracy?

The Missouri GOP Wakes Up

Tax Rates for Limiting the Leviathan

Who's the Real Tea Party Candidate?

Joe Stiglitz Wants Your Money

The Left's Big Obsession … newer version HEREhumor?

Are Drunken Hobos Nullifying America's Elections? ... humor? ...

Inequality: It’s a Good Thing ... also here ...

Creative Destruction in Kansas City?

Tea Parties are like the confederates or something

Stop Coddling Warren Buffett

Tax Reform for a Broke Nation

What took the S&P downgrade so long? … for the Tea Party

Credit Downgrade: Where do we go to get our good name back?

A Ridley Scott Movie for Conservatives

Debt Ceiling: Anything But Spending Cuts

Paul Krugman on Default: Crazy for You … Tenth Amendment Center

Debt Ceiling: The Long Run Is Here … a short blog

Bill O’Reilly Addresses the Tea Party

Can Increased Demand Save the Economy?

Debt Ceiling: Groping for Clarity

ObamaCare and the King’s Royal Deeralso here

Debt Ceiling: The Trap of Budget Cuts in the ‘Out Years’

Presidential Elections: An End Run Around the Constitution?

The “Real” Tax Rates on Top Earners

The Debt Ceiling Showdown in an Uncertain Recovery

Bobby Fischer Against the World

Paul Krugman: The Lesser of Two Evils?

The Ever-Shifting Price of ObamaCare

Hit and Run Journalism in Kansas City

The Debt Ceiling: Who’s Holding Whom Hostage?

Removing the Payroll Tax Cap

Social Security ‘Whoppers’ and the Compliant Media

NY Times columnist wrong: Congress Can End Social Security Whenever They So Choose

The Price of Government Employees

Robert Reich: Who You Calling a Liar?

Paul Krugman: Another Day Older and Deeper in Debt

Kansas City Star whitewashes Senator McCaskill’s offenses

‘Waiving’ goodbye to the Constitution

The Mahdi in the Moviessee a great movie clip

The Unbearable Lightness of the Social Security “Trust Fund”

Who’s afraid of a little election fraud?

The Individual Mandate: Is It a Tax?

The Limits of Federal Power: ObamaCare on Trial

Tea Partiers concerned about America, watch this VIDEO.

Puccini is the best intro to opera -- click below and change your life:



The Restoration is not yet complete.

Monday, May 10, 2010

Tea Party a gogo

IGNORE the above date, it's actually December 24, 2010; I'm updating an old post with new stuff. Read my recent articles at American Thinker, TCS Daily (now at Jim Glassman's Ideas in Action), GOPUSA, David Horowitz's NewsRealBlog, and The Tenth Amendment Center:

Can the Tea Party Triumph Against Voter Fraud?
Obama Ignores History, Recovery Stalls
Shrink the Fed Before It Shrinks the Dollar .... also here
How We Can Reverse ObamaCare ... also here
Fraud in the November Elections? ... a job for the Tea Party
Tea Party Clarity on the Deficit
How to Fix Pro Baseball
Money Is Still Money, Isn't It? ... updated version here and here
The Pride of Progressive Programs
The Day the Debt Stood Still ... also here
Shared Sacrifice in Obamaland
Obamacare Flushes the Constitution
Obama in the Age of Reaganomics
The Price of Everything
The Reindustrialization of America
Federal Revenue and the Economy
Counting Foreigners in the U.S. Census
The Senseless Census: A Solution
Trillion-Dollar Deficits and the Press
The Dollar's Demise is not Inevitable
The Tea Party's Big Worry
Money and Ruin
The Individual Mandate: We're All Amish Now
Roosevelt Redux?

Ain’t YouTube grand? Folks upload one treasure after another. I found these two gems recently and I’m dedicating them to Mark Steyn, who seems to have a taste for song. The first is of the great Italian basso Cesare Siepi singing Cole Porter circa 1962. Siepi is the very definition of “suave.” Then, as Steyn’s from the Great White North, we have the indispensable Jon Vickers in a rendition of “Ich grolle nicht.” What a voice; what an interpretation.
...and for extra credit, identify these folks:



















ULTRACON: awaiting The Restoration in November.

Sunday, March 21, 2010

Election Fraud in November

Go to TCS Daily and check out my articles about the problems for election integrity this November, and be sure to watch the videos:



Today we bring you a little "music of the spheres"; namely the duet that concludes Act I of Die Walkure. This is about as good as it gets: Leonie Rysanek and the great Jon Vickers. It's from German TV circa 1972. Many thanks to whomever posted this wonderful concert performance.


ULTRACON: Redemption through opera.

Thursday, February 25, 2010

Trillion Dollar Deficits -- Part 10

Check out my article at American Thinker:


and then check out The Divine Angela singing The Divine Wolfie--all for one low price!!



Ultracon: Waiting for November.

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

The Alternative to UVR

Read Ultracon's recent article at TCS Daily. And be sure to watch the short video that accompanies it:


Ultracon comes through again with more of The Divine Angela. This time a promo for a recent EMI recording of Madama Butterfy. Ultracon is also pleased with the Pinkerton, Jonas Kaufman, a tenor with some meat on his voice. Ultracon likes big heavy dark voices, don't cha know.

Perhaps Ultracon's all-time favourite tenor is Jon Vickers. Ultracon also heartily approves of Nicolai Gedda. And of course the only bass in history was Nicolai Ghiaurov (see last post).

Ultracon doesn't know how this melding of conservative opinion with opera videos is working out for the folks. Nor can Ultracon even guess at the effect of constantly referring to himself in the third person.



ULTRACON: It's self-contradicting, like an oxymoron. Why?


Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Federal Overreach and the States

Congratulations, Independent voters of the Bay State. Scott Brown now becomes one of this Missouri boy's favorite senators. We expect more stunning developments from Massachusetts. And while you're here, check out my new article hot off the presses at American Thinker: Federal Overreach and the New States' Rights Movement
Today, we pay homage to Ultracon's candidate for the finest bass of all time: Nicolai Ghiaurov. Nick's voice was not only titanic, it was, IMHO, one of the few bass voices that was beautiful. BTW, I'm updating this post because the previous YouTube video was taken down. I recently screened Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows, which featured the scene in Don Giovanni where the Don is sent to Hell. Here's Nick as the Don in that scene. In case you're not familiar with the opera, Nick is the second voice.ULTRACON: a piquant blend of paleocon, neocon and 9/11-con, with zesty libertarian overtones...Try it, you'll like it.

Monday, December 28, 2009

Trillion Dollar Deficits -- Part 9

Read my article at American Thinker:


Ultracon finds it easy to pronounce The Divine Angela as history's definitive Mimi. EMI put out a DVD of the following performance; it's available in better stores everywhere, as well as Angela's website: La Boheme.

Here's Mimi's Act III aria, Donde lieta usci; you'll never be the same:


ULTRACON: stuck in 1896.

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

The Church of Gheorghiu

Read the latest from Ultracon at TCS Daily:


NOTE: If you find the Borg metaphor apt, you might enjoy this video of actress Alice Krige commenting about Power vis-à-vis her role as the Borg Queen.

And now to the serious stuff: The Divine Angela.

The following video is of Mimi's Act I aria from La Boheme. It demonstrates what a terrific actress Ms. Gheorghiu is. Of course the main thing is the voice.

If you want more, find in the playlist returned at the end "O soave fanciulla", which takes you to the end of act.



Ultracon: Good for what ails you.

Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Trillion Dollar Deficits -- Part 8

Read this at American Thinker:


and this at TCS Daily:


Even Ultracon can't spend all his time worshipping The Divine Angela Gheorghiu. So today we offer this French confection from 1967. You will recognize a very young Catherine Deneuve, but who is the brunette? It's Cate's older sister, Francoise Dorleac. Francoise was every bit as fetching as her younger sister. Shortly after this film debuted, Francoise died in an auto accident at the age of 25. The Young Girls of Rochefort was her next to last flic. The film has been restored and is available on DVD. Click on the video below for a taste of this charming diversion.



ULTRACON: for Real Americans

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Healthcare for Dummies


These articles are at American Thinker:




(A shorter version of the last article appeared Nov. 3 in STAR BUSINESS WEEKLY of The Kansas City Star newspaper. It was titled "Time for Insurance Solutions" .)

Ultracon seems to be becoming The Unofficial Shrine to Diva Angela Gheorghiu. The following video is of a recording session where the Divine Angela is not foo-fooed up to her usual glamorous gorgeous Gheorghiu standard, but the voice is glorious. What a woman.


Ultracon: Accept no substitutes.

Sunday, November 1, 2009

Modest Proposals

Here's a recent article that ran at American Thinker which looked at the coverage of Nick Griffin's appearance on the BBC. I included links to several British websites that had videos of the event and the protests:
Rightwing Fascists and Other Fables
it also has a plug for an important book.

Although this proposal appeared at GOPUSA, it should be adopted by the Dems, too:
The Presidential Primary System And What To Do About It
I don't like the idea of changing the Constitution, but here's a change I do endorse:
Two Tweaks to the Constitution
and then there's The Divine Angela:


ULTRACON: the pause that refreshes

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Trillion Dollar Deficits -- Part 7

My latest article may seem only tangential to our abysmal deficit:
Towards a Simpler, Fairer Tax
but don't let the title fool you.

Lenny only performed the first movement of Mahler's Tenth.


ULTRACON: we're hep.